Nigeria decides: APC sweeps state assembly seats in Kogi

Nigeria decides: APC sweeps state assembly seats in Kogi

Nigeria decides: APC sweeps state assembly seats in Kogi

The All Progressives Congress in Kogi State has won all the state assembly seats declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) across various local government areas of the state.

Apart from the election declared inconclusive in Igalamela-Odolu State Constituency due to the pocket of violence recorded in that area and the rescheduled State Assembly election in Mopa Muro Local Government, which is ongoing as at the time of filling this report, the ruling party swept their opponents in Kogi East, West and Central.

Confirming the decision of INEC not to declare the result of Igalamela Odolu State Constituency as conclusive, the candidate of the People Democratic Party Friday Sanni Makama in his facebook page wrote ” I told you to thank God because illegality remain illegality. Majority of the polling units in Igalamela/Odolu were cancelled and the election officially declared inconclusive.

“So their military attack to subvert the wish of the people is now useless. Kindly congratulate yourself and prepare for next round of another election.

“Superiority and popularity on display as PDP did not pay for any vote cast, yet the electorate show their love by voting PDP. I challenge APC to try any election without using our workers fund to share on election day and see if APC can have ten vote in a polling unit”.

Meanwhile, the Peoples Democratic Party in Mopamuro LGA of Kogi State has boycotted today’s rescheduled House of Assembly election.

Recalled that the State Houses of Assembly Elections held across the country yesterday, but that of Mopamuro LGA State Constituency was slated for today because the ballot papers of Ankpa LGA were wrongly sent to the constituency.

Confirming the boycott, Yomi Awoniyi said the Leadership of Mopamuro LGA PDP, having consulted with the Zonal, and State leadership of the party hierarchy, have withdrawn from today’s House of Assembly Election.

The withdrawal according to Yomi Awoniyi, the immediate past Kogi State Deputy Governor, said the withdrawal was to essentially save lives and properties.

In his words, ” the brazen ballot box snatching that was experienced in the adjoining local government areas in the yesterday’s elections, the shooting of party agents in a very senseless manner, harassment of PDP candidates in adjoining local government areas, particularly that of Yagba West to be specific and the influx of hoodlums from outside Mopamuro and the incessant gunshots which had reign the skies at night for the last three days, and the Mopamuro House of Assembly election been a stand alone, where all the apparatus of thuggery would be unleashed in Mopamuro, the party feels our victory is not worth the blood of any citizen of this local government area”.

Yomi Awoniyi said “the party is therefore inviting their party agents to stay clear from the election as we’re boycotting the election”

A letter boycotting the Assembly election, signed by the Local Government Party Chairman, Olasunmol Fatobi has already been submitted to the Kogi State Independent National Electoral Commission.

As released by INEC were election took place across Kogi State, in Kabba Bunu State constituency, the Independent National Electoral Commission declared Hon. Mathew Kolawole Speaker Kogi State House of Assembly as the winner of the House of Assembly election held in Kabba Bunu state constituency.

The Speaker who contested on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 17, 248 votes to defeat his opponent from PDP and ADC who scored 9,337 and 2, 172 votes respectively.

Jimoh Omiata of the APC was also declared winner of Yagba East State House of Assembly Election after polling 8,893 votes to defeat the ADC and PDP candidates who scored 4,295 and 3,315 votes respectively.

Still in Kogi West, the Candidate of the All Progressives Congress for Ijumu Constituency, Ambassador Olusola Kilani Olumo has was declared winner of the of the House of Assembly election.

The returning officer, Dr Kelvin Anoh, who announced the result, said Ambassador Kilani scored 10,478 votes to defeat Mr. Adewale Saliu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who got 8,813 votes.

Dr Anoh said the candidate of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Shuaib Ipinmisho scored 1933 while that of Justice Most Prevail Party (JMPP), Bosede Olupeka had 18 votes.

Meanwhile, the Agents of PDP, Chief Omolade Ibikunle and that of ADC, Mr. Ibileke Olufemi, have rejected the results and called for a cancellation of the results in Ileteju/Origa and Okoro/Odokoro Wards where they alleged violence and intimidation.

APC also won its Assembly election in Yagba West, Lokoja I and II, and Kogi LGA,

For Kogi East, Hon Rai Daniya of APC was declared winner of the election in Bassa State Constituency.

According to the returning officer, Prince Adamu Ibrahim, the APC candidate polled 14,173 while his opponent, who is a serving lawmaker in the Constituency, Sunday Shigaba scored 7,475 votes.

Also, Ahmed Mohamed of Akpa I State Constituency and Rabiu Alfa of Ankpa II Constituency was returned elected under the platform of the ruling party APC.

Ahmed Mohamed polled 13,504 to beat the candidate of the PDP who scored 3,692 votes.

APC also won other LGA’s were election took place in Kogi East.

In Kogi Central, Hon. Lawi A.T Ahmed of the APC emerged winner for Okene 1, State Constituency election.

He scored 26, 684 votes to defeat his other contestant whose scores are as followed

INEC also declared Hon. Muktar Bajeh of APC winner of Okehi State Constituency election after scoring 26,964.votes to beat the PDP candidate who polled 5,633 votes.

Similarly, Hon. Moses Akande of the APC came out victorious for Ogori Magongo state constituency. The final results as released by INEC are as follows:

1, APC = 3486

2, PDP = 2095

3, LP = 182

4, SDP = 41

The APC also won the Assembly election in Ajaokuta, and Adavi LGAs.

By John Akinfehinwa


State elections 2019 3899679406808063797

Follow Us


Get Latest News straight to your inbox, and be the first to Know. Subscribe below.

Get Informed Today


Most viewed


Recent Posts Widget



Latest News

Recent Posts Widget